Literary fashion icons

My boyfriend was thinking about taking part in NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month) again this year and because The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern was meant to have grown from Morgenstern’s writing from a previous NaNoWriMo I decided to give it a read.

The descriptions of the surroundings and clothes are absolutely beautiful and I can almost feel the fabrics. Reading it reminded me of a post I read last week on the telegraph about literary fashion icons. The first three on my list below I share with the article, but thinking about the clothes characters wear made me realise I pay more attention than I thought I did to characters’ appearances even when I can’t ‘see’ their clothes.

Elizabeth Bennet‘s practical attitude to her appearance is something I love. I walk a lot and have many a time gotten my shoes muddy because of a desire to take the scenic route though a park rather than catch a bus.

Bertie Wooster‘s dapper, yet slightly un-conservative fashion sense is a humorous point in Wodehouse’s books and I love his style.

Mildred Hubble‘s unkempt hair and long skirts were very much me growing up (and these were stories I loved!)

Hercule Poirot‘s neatness reflects his logical mind and I love his attentiveness to his appearance even if I don’t share the same attitude.

Orlando in Virginia Woolf’s book, made me think about how people often judge someone’s gender on their clothing.

Hermione Granger‘s frizzy hair always made me feel better about my own hair growing up. At school I was (and am) the girl who always did the homework and it was quite nice to share Hermione’s frizziness along with her intelligence!

Before films and TV, I imagine people were perhaps more likely to be inspired by literary characters’ fashions? It was nice to give it some thought.

Leave a Reply

