Language in the news: Jane Austen on the £10 note!

Jane Austen banknote. Photograph: Bank of England.

Jane Austen banknote. Photograph: Bank of England.

I am so excited about the news that Jane Austen is going to be on the £10 note! Having a woman AND an author is just fantastic! I’m a big fan of Austen’s works so was really pleased to hear this. I don’t really pay much attention to notes usually, however I came across a Scottish £5 note when I lived in Scotland which has Robert Burns on one side a lovely picture of a field mouse on the other and I thought it was too pretty to spend. I think it’d be nice if more notes had pleasant pictures to brighten up your day like this one:

Scottish £5 note mouse

Scottish £5 note mouse

Leave a Reply

